Skip to content

2008.05.14

May 14, 2008

I roasted a chicken on Sunday. It was one of those big ones, almost 8 pounds, which I love because I can squeeze a few nights of leftovers out of them.  We ate the breast meat on Sunday.  On Monday night Larry made chicken soup (yes, although it’s mid-May, it’s still chicken-soup weather here).  And there was still almost a half-pound of chicken left, so I decided to make chicken pot pie for dinner last night.

Except when the time came to gather the ingredients I felt like I was in a nursery rhyme: when I got there, the cupboard was bare. No frozen pie crust.  No cream of chicken soup.

Granted, it was Tuesday, my work at home day. I could have gone to the store to pick some up.

But I really hate to go to the grocery store to pick up ‘just a few things’ – I usually walk out of there $20 lighter.

I knew I had a box of the heart-healthy Bisquick, and could fudge together a biscuit-style crust with it. A quick trip to their website confirmed that.

(I’ve become a total convert to Bisquick, by the way. Up til recently I was making pancakes from scratch, but even with the dishwasher, I can’t really justify using three mixing bowls and forty-five minutes on a Sunday morning when Bisquick is a one-bowl, two-minute solution. One of these days I might just make actual biscuits with it.)

Then it was just the cream of chicken.  Granted, popping open a can is definitely the easiest and fastest way out, but how hard could it really be to make?

According to these folks, it’s not hard at all. I even had all the ingredients on hand.

Turns out that cream of anything soup is really just a bechamel sauce.  Which is really a roux with some dairy thrown in.

But since it’s been a good couple of years since I’ve tried a roux (despite what some experts say, in my book gravy doesn’t count), it didn’t seem like a good idea.  One of these days I’ll give it a whirl, but yesterday was not that day.  After I picked up Larry at work, we stopped at the grocery store and he picked up a can of the soup.

I did use the Bisquick for the crust, though.  No more difficult than using the frozen pie crust, and a heckuva lot cheaper.  I can’t say for certain, but I’ve got to think it’s (at least slightly) healthier, too.

Alternate Pot Pie Topping

1/2 cup milk

1 cup Heart Smart Bisquick

1 egg

Prepare the pot pie according to the instructions in my original recipe.  Once mixture is in the casserole dish/pie pan, pour the Bisquick mixture over the top.  Bake at 400 for 30 minutes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

