Skip to content

2008.03.12

March 12, 2008

Yesterday was a stark contrast to last week’s work at home day. Between a terrible network connection and an increasingly rambunctious toddler, I got next to nothing accomplished. Not even laundry.

After swallowing a bead (don’t worry, it was teeny), falling over the arm of the couch and generally running wild all morning, the Peep went down for a nap right after lunch.

Visions of productivity danced in my head.

But only briefly; he unfortunately only slept for 45 minutes, and quickly got back to running wild. Through all of this my network connection was sluggish at best. Not only could I not get onto my company’s network, I couldn’t even get to the blog – or do anything online at all. My email worked, but only sporadically. Ugh.

Things took a turn for the better late in the afternoon; I made an executive decision to knock off a little early to pick up some books I’d requested from the library. The Peep ran around there for a bit, then we picked up Larry at work, and got home shortly before my long-awaited company arrived.

There was pizza. There was wine. There was laughter. There was sweater construction (CC had never done set-in sleeves before, and needed a little tutorial).

Alas, I forgot to take one single photograph.

They left around nine. The Peep was asleep by 9:15. I was asleep by 9:30.

That about sums it up, doesn’t it?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2008 1:15 pm

    My son used to wait until after 11 at night to fall asleep, sleep only until 5:30 a.m and then only once in a while take a 30 minute nap during the day (this when he was a baby through toddler). I know that thing about “visions of productivity danced in my head” all too well. Of course now those days are long gone and I’m the one taking a nap in the middle of the day.

    Still, it was not so long ago that I don’t feel for the creative mom’s who have little guys right now. Happy for you that the afternoon turned out so nice, with or without the photos.

    Best,
    firefly

  2. March 12, 2008 4:30 pm

    Oh…I hate days like that.

  3. March 12, 2008 9:34 pm

    I had so much fun! Next time the pizza’s on us and we’ll gather at our place :o)

Leave a Reply

