Skip to content

2008.03.10

March 10, 2008

I attended my friend’s baby shower on Saturday. It was held in a brownstone on Beacon Hill, so I left the car at home and took the T.

It was the first time I’ve been on the T since they got rid of the tokens (not because it’s beneath me in any way; just because I don’t go anywhere); Larry had to give me a tutorial on how to use his pass.

The inbound trip was uneventful; I actually hitched a ride to the train station with my dad so I avoided the suspect-at-best bus schedule. On the way home, I waited at the train station for 15 minutes for a bus before I started walking home. I figured I’d just get on the bus when it caught up to me. Thirty minutes and two miles later (in the pouring rain, no less), I was home; the bus never passed me. But I actually didn’t mind, I enjoyed the walk.

At any rate, the shower was a lovely luncheon; she got some great gifts, the bolero and the Mary Janes were well received, and a good time was had by all.

I put the fixins for dinner (pulled-chicken enchiladas) in the crockpot before I left.  Which would have been perfect if only I had plugged the crockpot in.  Luckily Larry noticed it shortly after I left, so disaster was averted.

I did a bunch of work on the semi-secret project:

img_2526.jpg
It’s almost 18 inches long now, and I’m thrilled with how it looks so far.  It’ll be 60 inches by the time all is said and done.  It looks a bit drab in the photo, but it’s a lovely pearly lilacy grey in real life.
I also finished the Peep’s hat:
img_2530.jpg
img_2531.jpg
I know what you’re thinking.  “If that’s a hat meant for a toddler, why is your husband wearing it?”  Because it’s freakishly huge, that’s why!  It’s too big for me, never mind the Peep.  I’m not sure why, either; I actually did a test swatch and got gauge…
But, I’m still pretty happy with it.  I’m thinking abut folding up the bottom edge giving that a try.  I’m hoping it will fit the Peep next winter, but if not, I may take it for myself.
If I can get it away from Larry.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

