Skip to content

2008.03.07

March 7, 2008

I finished the round baby blanket last night. Hooray!

img_2522.jpg

It’s about 30″ across; here’s a photo with a ruler in it for scale.

img_2519.jpg

This is the sixth one of these blankets I’ve made, and I think it’s the best one so far. It took me exactly 35 days to finish; it would have been even quicker had I not stopped to make three other projects. You can find the free pattern over here. It took me about a half-skein of Lion Brand Pound of Love, but mileage will vary based on yarn weight and needle size.

In case you’re wondering how on earth a round blanket works with a baby, I took a few sample photos using our Terrify Me E1mo as a model. (Yes, the Peep still wants no part of him.)  TME is approximately 16 inches tall, obviously shorter than the average baby, but you’ll get the idea.

Place the baby on the blanket with his head at the top edge.

img_2511.jpg

Fold the blanket up over the baby.

img_2513.jpg

Fold the two sides in, and voila! A baby burrito!

img_2514.jpg
4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2008 11:40 am

    Love it! i think i will rip out the baby blanket im doing and start this one!!!

  2. March 7, 2008 11:50 am

    could you tell me the size needles you used and the number of stitches you cast on?
    TPlease and thank you, Kristina

  3. maguidhir permalink
    March 7, 2008 5:36 pm

    I love it too! I’m looking for another baby blanket pattern to start knitting for a friend of mine, and this one is perfect 🙂 Yours turned out great!

  4. March 8, 2008 8:47 am

    So pretty. I love looking at the work you do…

Leave a Reply

