Skip to content

2008.02.29

February 29, 2008

I spent Wednesday night with a fever, shivering under 3 layers of blankets and quilts. So I stayed home from work yesterday. I was too dizzy to watch television, but not so dizzy to work a few inches of stockinette…

Sublime: Finishing the second sock six months after I started the first one.

Ridiculous: The price one pays for letting six months go in between two socks.

Behold:

img_2488.jpg
img_2468.jpg

I don’t think it had anything to do with the fever…Now, I write pretty specific notes as I’m going along in a pattern. Most of the time I do so that, should I ever make the same item again, I can save some time. For socks, it means that I can just count rows on the second sock, without stopping every so often to measure the length. In this particular case, I wrote “change to size 1 needles when beginning the leg”. And later “work 60 rows on leg, then k2p1 ribbing for 10 rows”.

Apparently those notes where meant for the next pair of Widdershins, not the second sock of this pair.

I thought about ripping the taller sock back to match, but then figured that I just don’t care that much. I don’t wear socks with skirts, shorts, or capri pants; ergo, no one will ever see the tops of the socks. The feet and heels fit perfectly, that’s all that really matters.

img_2472.jpg

The Peep is not only a ham in front of the camera, he has now progressed to want to take the photos himself. Of himself, even…

img_2487.jpg
img_2482.jpg
img_2475.jpg
img_2474.jpg

Have a great weekend!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 29, 2008 5:50 pm

    I’ve been dizzy too…sinus and ears…who needs them anyway? Feel better.

  2. milmom permalink
    March 2, 2008 7:43 pm

    I am always crazy obsessive about marking rows when I have anything that is going to be measured and done again (e.g. left and right front, sleeves, etc.) I keep a notebook with me and mark each row as I finish it, that way when I start my next one (the other front, the other sleeve, etc), I will know exactly how far to go with it without having to measure. As I am just now trying to knit socks, I am using the same principle with it. Hopefully it will work out the same way (fingers crossed). But I love the colors of your socks.

Leave a Reply

