Skip to content

2008.02.20

February 20, 2008

I finished the second baby-shower project last night:

img_2428.jpg
img_2431.jpg

All things considered I’m pretty pleased with them, although the pattern instructions left a few things to be desired.

For instance, the pattern calls for “a pair of size 5 needles”. Then midway through the pattern you need to pick up stitches on three sides of a one-inch square of stockinette; granted, I’m not a master knitter, but I can’t imagine knitting around three sides of something that small with a pair of straight needles. And of course I don’t have a set of DPN’s in size 5, so I had to use size 4 DPN’s. Which naturally made the thing a little off-kilter.

Also, a diagram for construction would have been helpful. I figured it out, but it would have been nice to know what to expect.

Needless to say, that first bootee became the test bootee, never to be seen again. I made these two using size 4 straights and DPNs, so my gauge is slightly off. Ah well, they’re baby bootees; if they get worn once that’ll be a lot.

The last bone I have to pick with the pattern is related to buttons. The pattern calls for, and I quote, “tiny buttons”. Um, how tiny, exactly? I bought a set of 12mm buttons, which seem pretty tiny, but they’re not nearly tiny enough to fit through the buttonhole. Had I thought about this, I would have made the buttonhole bigger. As it is, I think I’m going to sew the button onto the strap, and fasten the strap to the shoe with a bit of elastic – I can’t imagine fighting with a baby to get the shoes on AND buttoned, you know?

On the positive side, they knit up very quickly, and they look really really cute.  So overall, I’m pretty happy with them.

This now concludes all the knitting I’m going to do for the baby shower. I will make a blanket too, but no way would it get done in time for the shower; I’ll finish off my other in-progress projects, then whip up something for the Peep, and then return to baby knitting. The baby isn’t due until mid-May, so I should still have plenty of time to get it done.

Now, back to the he’s-already-here baby blanket, which I hope to finish up by the end of next week…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Angela permalink
    February 20, 2008 2:36 pm

    Oh my goodness. This are adorable.

Leave a Reply

