Skip to content

about the lamp

February 12, 2008

In case you’ve been wondering, we are still waiting for our replacement television bulb.

I never got a shipping confirmation email on Thursday, or Friday, so I called them Friday afternoon.  After giving the customer service rep my order number, I told him I wanted to know when I could expect to receive my order.  He checked their system and called their warehoues.  He couldn’t get through to anyone, apparently they’re closed “for lunch” from 1-3, but he promised to call them at 3 then call me right back.  I told him I’d only be at this number til 4:30 and would really expect a call before then.  He said no problem.

I also said “not to be a jerk here, but the main reason I selected FedEx overnight was so that we’d get the lamp before the weekend. So I would hope and expect that if this thing is going to ship today, it is shipped for Saturday delivery.” He said “no problem”. and then I said “and I will not pay extra for Saturday delivery”.  He was quiet for a second and then he said “I’m sure we can work something out.”

Needless to say, I did NOT get a call before 4:30.  So after I loaded the Peep into the car and was on the road toward Larry’s work, I called them.  And got another rep, who promised to “check and call back before I leave at 6”.

You guessed it – no call.

No bulb over the weekend, either.

On Monday morning I checked my order status on their website.  It still said “Pending”.  Not “We are truly sorry for the inconvenience”.  Not even “Shipped”.  So I called.  The nice man said that they had attempted to ship our order on Friday, but on exit inspection the bulb failed 3 tests out of 8, so they pulled it.  Our order was going out today for sure, and I could call back after 3 for a tracking number.

Not sure why, after our bulb failed the inspection, they didn’t then test and ship another bulb on Friday.  But whatever.

Well, I’m sorry to say I forgot to call them back after 3 for a tracking number, because on Tuesday morning my order status still said “Pending”.  When I called this morning, the rep told me that she didn’t yet have the yesterday’s shipping list, but she’d get ahold of it and call me back with my tracking number.

I wasn’t holding my breath.  But indeed she did call me back within a half hour … and told me that my order was shipping today, for sure.  When I asked her why it hadn’t shipped out yesterday, she couldn’t give me an answer.  But again, if I call back after 3 I can get a tracking number.

Guess what I’ll be doing at oh, 3:05 today?

And once we finally get the shipment, I will be calling my credit card company and asking them to dispute the shipping charges.  I will also be writing a nicely worded complaint letter to the company in question.

Did I mention that the whole reason we placed the order online was so that we could have the bulb BEFORE the weekend?  If I thought for an instant that we’d still be bulbless a week later I could have gone to a freaking electronics store over the weekend!

By the way, I’m not trying to be a snot here, I realize that a large-screen television is something of a luxury item, and I can certainly live without it.  We have three other televisions in the house, even.  But consider that most of the Peep’s toys have been confined to the living room, and for the past week they have slowly been migrating to other parts of the house, along with sippy cups, crumbs, and the other detritus that goes hand in hand with an almost-two-year-old, and you begin to understand the scope of the problem here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

