Skip to content

2008.02.12

February 12, 2008

In other news, I had an eye appointment this morning, and needed a new prescription.

Translation, I got to pick out new glasses!  They’ll be ready in about a week – I can’t wait!  I’ll post a photo as soon as I get them, I promise.

In the latest episode of Stash and Burn, the girls were talking about how they’ve noticed a similarity between the latest knitting patterns, and the latest retail knitwear. Witness:

Lion Brand Cable Lux  Cable Lux, from Lion Brand

Pringle Eerily similar, from Pringle (a UK chain)
Apparently there’s a similar one available at the Gap as well, but neither they nor I could find it online.

Then I noticed it myself over the past few days, in my very own mailbox:

Cover sweater from Spring 08 Interweave Knits‘Holly Jacket’ from Interweave Knits Spring 2008

‘Chic Textured Cardigan’ from the Boden catalog

Nicole and Jenny wondered whether the knitting trends follow the retail trends, or vice versa. Me no know.

They were also wondering whether they only noticed the similarities because they were knitters.  I’m guessing yes, because how would you ever even see the knitting patterns unless you were a knitter?

But regardless of whether knitting is the chicken or the egg, I find it validating that the knitting patterns out there are in step with today’s trends. I think people non-knitters are continually amazed that handknit items don’t have to look like they were knit by your spinster great-aunt.

Unless that’s the look you’re going for, of course…

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 12, 2008 6:44 pm

    Saw your post in my tag surfer – The grey sweater was out at Old Navy as well this winter. The cables while similar were slightly just different. It launched about OCT for the cold and Xmas selling season and was practically non existant come Dec 29th. I have found a few stragglers on the clearance racks but most are now gone gone.
    Char

Leave a Reply

