Skip to content

2008.02.04

February 4, 2008

On Friday night I cast on for my baby nephew’s baby blanket.  It’s a round blanket, for you to wrap the kid up like a burrito.  This will be the fifth or sixth one I’ve made using this pattern, and I love it.  Plus it’s a quick knit, and considering I should have finished this thing months ago (and since the baby is already a week old), I need to get going.

I was puttering in the kitchen late Saturday afternoon when I heard the following:

Larry:  “Don’t touch that!  Put that down!  Uh oh … Mama’s gonna be mad!”

Peep: “Ha ha … Uh oh … hahaha!”

“What’s he doing?” I shouted from the kitchen.

“He was grabbing your yarn” was the reply.

Now, I keep my in-progress knitting in a bag on the floor to the left of the couch.   It’s bordered on the other side by a kitty-cornered chair, which forms a triangular space on the floor.  There’s a teensy slice of space at the front, just enough to slide a slim book through; the only other way to get to the bag  is by reaching over the side of the couch.

So I thought the little guy had reached in (I let often him play with my Kacha-Kacha and my tape measure) and grabbed at the stuff in the bag before Larry stopped him.

Imagine my surprise when, about to begin knitting, I pulled my work out of the bag  and found half of the stitches dangling off the needle!

When questioned, the eyewitness expressed uncertainty of how the perpetrator gained access to the restricted area.   And how long he was engaged in the illicit activity.  Ahem.

So I had to rip the whole thing out and begin again.  Which actually worked out for the best; my gauge had been off, and the thing would have been far too big.

The pattern is broken out into 12 separate sections; I’m not quite halfway through the third.  I’ll take some photos tonight and post them tomorrow.

The only other noteworthy thing this weekend (she said, studiously avoiding any mention of the Superbowl) was, we bought a new shower curtain rod.

Big whoop, you say.  Ah, but there’s where you’re wrong.

We bought one of those curved ones.  The ones that curve way out beyond the rim of the  tub.  It sounds so dumb, doesn’t it?  Larry, too, was skeptical.  Maybe I’m a little claustrophobic, but I always hate the feeling of confinement in the shower.  Not to mention the terror of actually touching the soap-scummy shower curtain liner.

Looking at the thing from the outside looking in, you can’t even fathom it makes any difference.  But standing in the shower, oh man!  It’s so much roomier it’s ridiculous!  I can stand in the shower with my hands on my hips and not touch the curtain!

It’s the little things that make me happy, you know?

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 4, 2008 3:56 pm

    This is why I don’t knit. Because the stitches always fall off. Only I’m holding the needles when that happens.

Leave a Reply

