Skip to content

2008.01.28

January 28, 2008

We really try to keep our weekend plans as flexible as possible; we never know how ambitious we’ll be, or what sort of moods we’ll be in, so we never know what we’ll feel like doing.

So when I walked up the stairs to the house on Friday afternoon, I had the following list of things that needed to happen over the weekend: grocery shopping. Period.

I wanted to do a few other errands: the craft store to buy yarn for baby knitting, the household accessories store to pick up a few things, and the almighty T@rget.

But when I walked in the door on Friday afternoon, I found out that the used snowblower we’re buying (and have been waiting for over the past month) was being delivered midday on Saturday, and would we mind paying them in cash? Never mind that I didn’t have any cash on me, not that we don’t routinely keep very much cash in the house anyway. So, add a trip to the bank to the “Need to Do” list.

After pizza (I love our “Takeout Friday” rule, and would encourage everyone to try it; it makes life much easier at the end of the week), and with a glass of wine close by, I finished the Baby Yoda sweater.

img_2360.jpg
img_2364.jpg

Good thing, too, because we were awoken Saturday morning to the news that my sister-in-law was in labor, and our new nephew would be arriving any minute! Yay! So add a Saturday afternoon/evening trip to the hospital to the “Need to Do” list.After the aforementioned trip to the bank Saturday morning, I no sooner walked in the door than I got a call that the snowblower would NOT be coming that day after all; that we would have to reschedule.

(quick aside: if you’re looking for quick cash, don’t you think it might perhaps be in your best interest to do thing at the buyer’s convenience, rather than your own? sigh)

The baby was born just before 2pm on Saturday, and we went and paid homage around 5. I brought the sweater and a bottle of champagne (Mumm’s, in honor of the new mother, get it?). Although the Peep was saying “baby cousin” all frickin day, he wanted no part of the poor thing; we stayed a little over an hour. (I didn’t think to ask her if it was okay to post photos, so I won’t just yet).
By that point we were hungry and tired, and I needed no wheedling to order Chinese food for dinner. Needless to say, none of my errands got done, but we had NO plans for Sunday, and could easily knock them all off well before the hockey game started. Right?

Um, no. It was snowing when we got up Sunday morning, and cold, and windy. A great day for staying in. Not so great for running non-critical errands. We finally mustered up the oomph to go to the grocery store, but that was the extent of it. Technically I could have gone alone (and been quicker and cheaper about it, to boot), but Larry gets a little antsy when he’s been indoors all day, and if Larry and I are going, well, so is the Peep.

After lunch (the rest of the Chinese food, thanks very much), while Larry and the Peep were napping, I cast on for the second Widdershins sock.

You may recall that I finished the first one back in September, and that I vowed to not start the next one until the Christmas knitting was finished. I really didn’t expect the Christmas knitting to wrap up on December 20th, and I sure didn’t expect to spend a month in a splint, but ah well.

Sometime this week I’ll find the time to buy the yarn; I can wait til next weekend to go to the housewares shop. After a weekend of takeout food I’m dreading tonight’s weigh-in at the W’s, but I’m hoping it will give me the boot in the arse I need to get back on the portion-control wagon.

Because clearly, life is what happens when you make other plans.

One Comment leave one →
  1. milmom permalink
    January 28, 2008 10:56 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my site. I love the little yoda sweater – Too Cute! Sounds like your weekend was pretty busy. Congrats on the new little one.

Leave a Reply

